Eryana’s 1st Birthday

It is SO hard to believe that one year ago on this date, I was in labor. 

I can’t believe our baby girl, our Bagel, has been in this world for one year now! It is so hard to see her walking all over the place. Where has time gone? Where is my baby!?! I feel like she came into this world ready to meet it head on, ready to explore and learn. There was no sweet and snuggly baby, just sheer determination. 

Now here she is one year after birth, she loves exploring the world – as of late, she enjoys knocking over block towers built by her brother, she savors snuggles with daddy, and eats a variety of food! Her vocabulary is ever-growing, but already includes “Da-dee,” “Lee,” “Thank You,” and more. She just blows my mind! 

We celebrated her amazing self yesterday with a party. In attendance were my dad (Dooda) and my brother; Aaron’s parents and brother, and our niece; my dear friend, (Aunt) Stephie. 

I have been on a gluten-free and sugar-free kick. I have a plethora of friends who have children with serious food allergies, so I am always trying my hand at making treats geared towards them. The cake I made for Eryana was one of these creations… it turned out well, although I think it needed a couple extra things in it to turn out perfect. I am sharing the recipe for all those who have children with food allergies and don’t know where to begin on making a birthday cake.

Eryana’s Birthday Cake Recipe

2 cups Brown Rice flour

1 TBSP baking soda (I did not use baking powder, as this contains corn, a common allergen)

1 tsp finely ground sea salt

1 TBSP cinnamon

1/2-1 cup water

2 cups apple sauce (I made my own apple-pear sauce, but jarred would work just as well)

1 large tablespoon Spectrum Organic shortening (palm oil based)

1/2 cup honey (I did not put any honey in, all the mainstream family was weirded out)

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).

2. Mix dry ingredients together. Add water, applesauce, shortening, and honey. Stir thoroughly.

3. Grease a cake pan with the shortening. Pour batter in. 

4. Place in oven. Cook for 20 minutes, possibly longer depending on the shape and size of your cake pan. 

5. Allow to cool before frosting

 

Eryana’s Birthday Cake Frosting

Every girl deserves to have delicious pink frosting! But all those icky artificial dyes are just NOT okay. 

1 cup Spectrum Organic shortening

1 cup Strawberries (de-stemmed) 

1 Banana, smashed (optional)

1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour (helped everything stick together)

Instructions

1. Place strawberries into a blender until a fine pulp. Pour into a shallow pan.

2. Place shortening into pan, turn on low heat. Stir strawberries and shortening together. Add Banana and flour. 

3. Remove from heat and allow to cool a bit before frosting cake. 

 

We decorated our cake with loads of fresh berries! It was really beautiful. The cake is very dense, as most gluten-free items tend to be.

Eryana mainly chowed down on the berries, which was totally fine with me!

We also made really yummy ice-cream that had honey in it. We will definitely be making more over the summer!

 

Eryana is such a spunky girl, I hope I can continue making her healthy treats for years to come! 

 

Leave a Reply

